Australian Weather Calendar

description below

Anzac Day (25 April) poppies symbolise Australians who have died in war.

Picture: TALL GUY

Australian public holidays in 2012


Day Date Major public holidays State-based holidays* Other significant dates

Sunday 1 January . . . . . . . . . . . . . . New Year’s Day
Monday 2 January New Year’s Day (extra holiday)
(all states, territories)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 13 February . . . . . . . Royal Hobart Regatta
(sth Tas)
. . . . . . .
Monday 5 March Labour Day (WA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 12 March Labour Day (Vic) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Eight Hours Day (Tas) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Friday 23 March . . . . . . . . . . . . . . World Meteorological Day
Thursday 31 March . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Calendar photo contest closes
Friday 6 April Good Friday
(all states, territories)
. . . . . . . Good Friday (Christian)
Saturday 7 April Easter Saturday
(ex WA, Tas)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Sunday 8 April Easter Sunday (NSW) . . . . . . . Easter Sunday (Christian)
Monday 9 April Easter Monday
(all states, territories)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Tuesday 10 April Easter Tuesday (extra holiday)
(Tas)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Wednesday 25 April Anzac Day
(all states, territories)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 7 May Labour Day (Qld) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
May Day (NT) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 4 June Foundation Day (WA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
(ex WA)
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Volunteer's Day (SA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 6 August Bank Holiday (NSW) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Picnic Day (NT) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 1 October Labour Day (NSW, SA, ACT) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Queen’s Birthday (WA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Monday 8 October Family and Community Day (ACT) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Tuesday 6 November . . . . . . . Melbourne Cup
(Melb metro, Vic)
. . . . . . .
Tuesday 25 December Christmas Day
(all states, territories)
. . . . . . . Christmas Day (Christian)
Wednesday 26 December Boxing Day (ex SA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Proclamation Day (SA) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

* State-based holidays generally apply to only parts of the state. For more detail, refer to State Govt websites.

Data obtained from the governments of: NSW, VIC, QLD, WA, SA, TAS, ACT, NT, and Norfolk Island,
the Federal Government sites: Public hols & school terms, Links to State Govt sites, Festivals & observances,
and religious sites on Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and the Chinese calendar.