Homepage and main map - Indigenous Weather Knowledge
Nyoongar Location MapNyoongar Calendar
Nyoongar calendar from the south-west of Western Australia showing six seasons
December - January February - March April - May June - July August - September October - November
Birak Bunuru Djeran Makuru Djilba Kambarang
Dry and hot Hottest part of the year Cooler weather begins Coldest and wettest time of the year; more frequent gales and storms Mixture of wet days with increasing number of clear, cold nights and pleasant warmer days Longer dry periods
Season of the young Season of adolescence Season of adulthood Fertility season Season of conception Season of birth

In the south west of Australia, the Nyoongar seasonal
calendar includes six different seasons in a yearly cycle.

These are Birak, Bunuru, Djeran, Makuru, Djilba and Kambarang. Each of the six seasons represents and explains the seasonal changes we see annually. The flowering of many different plants, the hibernation of reptiles and the moulting of swans are all helpful indicators that the seasons are changing.

The Nyoongar seasons can be long or short and are indicated by what is happening and changing around us rather than by dates on a calendar.

This six-season calendar is extremely important to Nyoongar people, as it is a guide to what nature is doing at every stage of the year, as well as understanding respect for the land in relation to plant and animal fertility cycles and land and animal preservation.

Disclaimer: Please be aware that there are different ways to spell Nyoongar (e.g. Nyungar, Nyoongar, Noongah) and Nyoongar words. Nyoongar language, like all traditional languages in Australia is an oral language. Throughout this calendar, we have maintained the spelling as Nyoongar, and we respectfully include all people in the South-West.

Geographical borders: Nyoongar country spans from Leeman in the North-West to beyond Cape Arid in the South-East.

For more information on Nyoongar culture visit: http://www.noongarculture.org.au/

Permission to use the Nyoongar seasonal calendar is granted by "South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council".