Six National Water Account 2010 reports available

National Water Account 2010 webpage

National Water Account 2010 webpage

Reports for six of the eight National Water Account 2010 regions are now available.

These regions are Adelaide, Canberra, Perth, Ord, South East Queensland and Sydney. A quick guide is available to help navigate the information.

The remaining two reports – Melbourne and the Murray–Darling Basin – will be released over the next two months.

Information presented is similar in style to financial accounting reports and includes the total water resources, the access rights to that water and the actual water extraction. It uses the best available data and includes information that has previously been difficult to access or unavailable to general users.

The Bureau of Meteorology prepared the National Water Account 2010 in partnership with over 30 organisations across Australia. These include lead and operational water agencies, local government, natural resource management agencies and commercial organisations such as irrigation service providers and electricity generators.

The National Water Account is an annual publication and fulfils one of the Bureau's statutory obligations under the Commonwealth Water Act 2007 .