Water Restrictions

The Bureau of Meteorology’s Water Restrictions website provides access to current water restrictions information for the whole of Australia. Water restrictions information can be searched by State or Territory, water agency and restriction name. Water restriction names and rules vary throughout Australia due to local requirements.

Help Help
Map of Australia and Capital Cities
Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Perth Adelaide Hobart Canberra Darwin Tasmania Victoria Australian Capital Territory New South Wales South Australia Queensland Northern Territory Western Australia

Northern Territory

Agency name:
Power and Water Corporation
Area web address:
Area description:

The Power and Water Corporation provides electricity, water supply and sewerage services to more than 85,000 customers, across 1.3 million square kilometres, nearly one-sixth of Australia’s land mass.

The Northern Territory’s vast landscape stretches from the tropical savannah in the north to the deserts of Central Australia. The north shares a monsoonal climate with its Asian neighbours and experiences torrential seasonal rains, floods and the threat of cyclones from October to May each year. In Central Australia, the desert summers bring scorching temperatures while in winter the mercury frequently dips below freezing, creating a demanding work environment.

The Corporation services four major regional areas, including the capital city of Darwin, 20 major Indigenous communities known as Territory Growth Towns, 52 remote communities and a range of outstations.

Current Restriction

Restriction name:
No restrictions
Restriction type:
Start date:
End date:
Restriction web address:
Description summary:

There are currently no water restrictions in place in the Northern Territory.