Water Restrictions

The Bureau of Meteorology’s Water Restrictions website provides access to current water restrictions information for the whole of Australia. Water restrictions information can be searched by State or Territory, water agency and restriction name. Water restriction names and rules vary throughout Australia due to local requirements.

Help Help
Map of Australia and Capital Cities
Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Perth Adelaide Hobart Canberra Darwin Tasmania Victoria Australian Capital Territory New South Wales South Australia Queensland Northern Territory Western Australia

Kempsey Shire Council Local Government Area

Agency name:
Kempsey Shire Council
Area web address:
Area description:

Kempsey Shire Council is located on the north coast of NSW, covering an area of 3,380 square kilometres, between the Pacific Ocean to the east, Five Day Creek in the west, Grassy Head to the north and Kundabung to the south. The Shire encompasses the catchment of the Macleay River

Council manages a total of eight (8) water supply systems, providing drinking water to Kempsey and the Lower Macleay (includes the towns of Frederickton, Smithtown and Gladstone), the coastal villages of Crescent Head, Hat Head, South West Rocks and Stuarts Point along with the upriver villages of Willawarrin, Bellbrook and the Thungutti Aboriginal Community.

Current Restriction

Restriction name:
Level 1
Restriction type:
Start date:
End date:
Restriction web address:
Description summary:

Residents can water outside using hand-held hoses, for one hour every second day, between 4pm and 9am only.

Micro-spray water systems may only be used for 15 minutes as part of the one-hour allocation.

Houses with an even number can water on the even days of the month, while houses with odd numbers water on the odd days of the month.

There is no watering at all on the 31st day of any month. This includes topping up home pools.

Sprinklers and fixed unattended hoses are banned.

No hosing of windows, houses, roofs, gutters, driveways and paved areas.