Water Restrictions

The Bureau of Meteorology’s Water Restrictions website provides access to current water restrictions information for the whole of Australia. Water restrictions information can be searched by State or Territory, water agency and restriction name. Water restriction names and rules vary throughout Australia due to local requirements.

Help Help
Map of Australia and Capital Cities
Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Perth Adelaide Hobart Canberra Darwin Tasmania Victoria Australian Capital Territory New South Wales South Australia Queensland Northern Territory Western Australia


Agency name:
Power and Water Corporation
Web address:
Description summary:

Due to the presence of PFAS in water around Katherine, the Northern Territory Government introduced compulsory water conservation measures to take the pressure off our groundwater supplies.

This means:

ODD NUMBERED properties can only water three days a week on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays from 6pm to 8am.

EVEN NUMBERED properties can only water three days a week on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays from 6pm to 8am.

No watering on Fridays.

No watering of hard surfaces such as concrete or paved driveways, footpaths, street gutters and road areas.