Water Restrictions

The Bureau of Meteorology’s Water Restrictions website provides access to current water restrictions information for the whole of Australia. Water restrictions information can be searched by State or Territory, water agency and restriction name. Water restriction names and rules vary throughout Australia due to local requirements.

Help Help
Map of Australia and Capital Cities
Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Perth Adelaide Hobart Canberra Darwin Tasmania Victoria Australian Capital Territory New South Wales South Australia Queensland Northern Territory Western Australia


Agency name:
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation
Web address:
Description summary:

Legislation: Water Agencies (Water Use) Bylaws 2010 relevant for domestic garden bores regulated by Department of Water. Water Services Regulations 2013 relevant to scheme water users regulated by water service providers.

Sprinkler restrictions are in force State-wide for both scheme water users and domestic garden bores. Perth metropolitan and the South West (including Albany) between 1 September and 31 May each year watering permitted once per day two days a week for scheme water users and three days a week for domestic bore users before 9 am or after 6 pm.

A permanent winter sprinkler ban applies to scheme and domestic garden bores in the Perth metropolitan area and some parts of the South West from 1 June to 31 August each year.

Domestic garden bores in other regional areas in Western Australia can irrigate once every day before 9 am or after 6 pm. Scheme water users are restricted to watering once on the rostered day described in the Water Services Regulations 2013 before 9 am or after 6pm.

The Department of Water administers a licensing system for other bore users (including local government, schools, sporting grounds and industry). Licences issued by the Department of Water may include water restriction and water efficiency requirements within the terms and conditions.