Water Restrictions

The Bureau of Meteorology’s Water Restrictions website provides access to current water restrictions information for the whole of Australia. Water restrictions information can be searched by State or Territory, water agency and restriction name. Water restriction names and rules vary throughout Australia due to local requirements.

Help Help
Map of Australia and Capital Cities
Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Perth Adelaide Hobart Canberra Darwin Tasmania Victoria Australian Capital Territory New South Wales South Australia Queensland Northern Territory Western Australia


Agency name:
Sydney Water Corporation
Area web address:
Area description:

The Sydney Water management area, covering greater Sydney, Illawarra and the Blue Mountains. This includes residents, businesses, local councils and goverment agencies.

Current Restriction

Restriction name:
Restriction type:
Start date:
End date:
Restriction web address:
Description summary:

The water restrictions listed below, known as Water Wise Guidelines (previously known as

Water Wise Rules), remain in force until further notice; apply in the whole of the area of

operations of Sydney Water Corporation; and apply to all users of drinking water supplied by

Sydney Water Corporation or sourced from a water main owned by Sydney Water

Corporation or supplied by a person licensed under the Water Industry Competition Act


All exemption permits in relation to previous water restrictions are hereby revoked, except in

respect of an exemption for medical reasons.

Refer to Water Wise Guidelines to find specific restrictions and exemptions.