Changes to forecast services in Victoria

From 23 September 2013


Weather forecast services in Victoria will change from Monday 23rd September 2013. A number of major regional towns will for the first time receive a specific weather forecast service.

A review of the suite of forecast locations has been undertaken to provide more even geographic coverage and a forecast service of greater relevance to a larger number of Victorians.

This change is enabled and will be implemented through the Bureau's Next Generation Forecast and Warning System.


New specific weather forecasts will be provided for Birchip, Cobram, Dandenong, Drouin, Edenhope, Gisborne, Kyneton, Lake Mountain, Leongatha, Mansfield, Melton, Moe, Pakenham, Sunbury, Torquay, Traralgon and Warragul.

Specific forecast services for the following locations no longer appear on the clickable map page but remain available through MetEye (type the forecast location name into the search box at the top left above the map):

Combienbar, Dartmouth, Gabo Island, Gelantipy, Kilmore Gap, Longerenong, Mount Moornapa, Mount Nowa Nowa, Noojee, Point Hicks, Sheoaks, Strathbogie and Walpeup