National arrangements for maritime distress and safety services

Distress and safety services conducted via HF radio channels are provided by the Commonwealth through the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) and State and Northern Territory governments under new arrangements. An integrated network of nine HF stations operated around Australia by State and Northern Territory Governments located at Gladstone, Cairns, Darwin, Perth, Port Hedland, Adelaide, Melbourne, Hobart and Sydney maintain a listening watch on distress and calling frequencies 4125, 6215 and 8291Khz 24 hours a day. These stations also provide regular broadcasts of navigation warnings on 8176 kHz. All GMDSS services (HF DSC monitoring and follow-on communications), other than the monitoring of 2187.5 kHz, are provided by AMSA.

For information about Australian maritime distress and safety services:

For maritime safety and weather broadcast services provided by State/Territory agencies: