Pacific Sea Level and Geodetic Monitoring Project

About the Project

The Pacific Sea Level and Geodetic Monitoring (PSLGM), operates under the Climate and Oceans Support Program in the Pacific (COSPPac). It is a continuation of the 20-year South Pacific Sea Level and Climate Monitoring Project (SPSLCMP)

The 14 Pacific Island countries participating in the project are the Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

The primary goal of the project is to generate an accurate record of variance in long-term sea level for the Pacific region.

The project also provides information about the processes, scale and implications of sea-level rise and variability of extreme events on South Pacific communities. It also makes sea-level data more readily available and usable to support management of coastal infrastructure and industries.

Pacific Region Data Products and Reports

PSLGM Metadata and Instructions

PSLGM Monitoring Network

Thirteen of the participating countries host a permanent tide gauge facility, which provides information on sea levels and tides. Palau does not have a permanent facility, so the project provides tidal predictions using information derived from other sources.

In addition to its system of tide gauge facilities, the Pacific Sea Level and Geodetic Monitoring network also includes a network of earth monitoring stations for geodetic observations, implemented and maintained by Geoscience Australia. The earth monitoring installations provide Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements to allow absolute determination of the vertical height of the tide gauges that measure sea level.

Point to a dot to see more information Lombrum, Manus Island, PNG Honiara, Solomon Islands Port Vila, Vanuatu Lautoka, Fiji Nuku'alofa, Tonga Rarotonga, Cook Islands Apia, Samoa Funafuti, Tuvalu South Tarawa, Kiribati Yaren District, Nauru Majuro, Marshall Islands Pohnpei, FSM