VHF Marine Radio Weather Services (Voice)

VHF broadcasts by state and territory authorities

The marine transport and safety agencies of the State and Northern Territory governments are responsible for the dissemination of maritime safety information, including weather information, for small craft (under 300 tonnes) on VHF radio.

For detailed explanation of arrangements, Australian maritime distress and safety services, and services that are to be provided by the State/Territory agencies in your area, see the following links.

Some state authority arrangements

Location VHF broadcaster VHF channel
Darwin, NT NT Dep. of Transport and Infrastructure 67
Torres Strait and Lockhart River, Qld AMSA REEFVTS 14
Cooktown, Qld AMSA REEFVTS 11
Townsville, Qld Maritime Safety Queensland 67
Mackay, Qld Maritime Safety Queensland 67
Tin Can Bay, Qld Maritime Safety Queensland 67
Mooloolaba, Qld Maritime Safety Queensland 67
Whyte I., Qld Maritime Safety Queensland 67
Southport, Qld Maritime Safety Queensland 67
Newcastle, NSW NSW Maritime Authority 67
Sydney, NSW NSW Maritime Authority 67
Port Kembla , NSW NSW Maritime Authority 67
Melbourne, Vic Marine Safety Victoria 67
Perth, WA WA Water Police 67
Rottnest I., WA WA Water Police 67

Other sources of VHF marine weather broadcasts

top


VHF broadcasts from Bureau offices

The Bureau broadcasts VHF marine weather services to some areas in QLD and WA that do not have a state authority provider.

Queensland

Station Working VHF Frequency 1 Broadcast Times (UTC) 2
Townsville 156.625/156.625MHz (ch72) 2215, 0215, 0715 UTC
(0815, 1215, 1715 EST)
Home Hill
(controlled from Townsville)
157.025/161.625MHz (ch80) 2215, 0215, 0715 UTC
(0815, 1215, 1715 EST)
Rockhampton
157.050/161.650MHz (ch21) 2120, 0210, 0705 UTC
(0720, 1210, 1705 EST)
Rockhampton
157.125/161.725MHz (ch82) 2040, 0140, 0640 UTC
(0640, 1140, 1640 EST)
Mackay
(Brampton Is)
157.050/161.650MHz (ch21) 2015, 0215, 0645 UTC
(0615, 1215, 1645 EST)
Mackay
(Knight Is)
157.025/161.625MHz (ch80) 2015, 0215, 0645 UTC
(0615, 1215, 1645 EST)

Western Australia

Station Working VHF Frequency 1 Broadcast Times (UTC) 2
Esperance 156.625/156.625MHz (ch72) 2215, 0415, 0815 UTC
(0615, 1215, 1615 WST)
Geraldton 156.675/156.675MHz (ch73) 2215, 0415, 0815 UTC
(0615, 1215, 1615 WST)
Broome 156.625/156.625MHz (ch72) 2240, 0840 UTC
(0640, 1640 WST)

top


Broadcast notes

  1. Announcement is first made on 156.800/156.800MHz (ch16) before moving to the working frequency. View information about Correct VHF Radio usage from the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA).
  2. The broadcasts include local coastal waters forecasts, warnings and observations. Provision is also made for mariners to call in with questions or updates.
  3. Emission code is 16K0F3E (FM).

top