Automation of Aerodrome Observations

In 2018, the Bureau of Meteorology (Bureau) began trialling the use of enhanced automated observation algorithms at select airports as part of the TAOCCC (Trial of Automated Observations at Cairns (YBCS), Canberra (YSCB), and Gold Coast (YBCG)) project. A key objective of the project was to provide the technical foundation for the automation of observations at all Australian aerodromes. As part of the project, new and improved automated observation algorithms were trialled and successfully implemented by the Bureau at YBCS, YSCB and YBCG in 2019.

Following the successful trial, the algorithms were enabled at all Category (Cat) A airports in Australia, with manual observations retained at CCAs1 to supplement the automated METAR/SPECI. In October 2020, the algorithms were enabled at all Cat B and Cat C & D aerodromes2.

Following consultation, representatives from Australia's aviation industry fully endorsed the Bureau's plan to pursue automation of observations at CCAs in lieu of manual observations over a four-year period.

At present, manual observations continue to supplement automated observations at Adelaide, Brisbane, Darwin, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney airports, but will transition to full automation by 2027 as part of the Automation of Capital City Airports project. The users of Bureau aviation weather products and services will see a gradual increase in the number of hours of automated METAR/SPECI observations at CCAs.

Automation of observations at all Australian aerodromes will ensure consistency in the performance of meteorological instrumentation and software, allowing the Bureau to continue to focus on improving observing algorithms and the adoption of improved technology.

Please refer to the following documents for more information on the Automation of Aerodrome Observations

Further Information and Contact Details

Automation of Aerodrome Observations (METAR/SPECI) Brochure

Automation of Aerodrome Observations (METAR/SPECI) FAQ

Ceilometers and Visibility Meters


Please contact: if you have any additional questions.

1The Capital City Airports - Adelaide, Brisbane, Cairns, Canberra, Darwin, Gold Coast, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney Airports.

2Refer to TAF Category map at for Aerodrome Categories

Accessing this Service

By entering this site, you acknowledge that this information is produced solely for use by the aviation industry, and you are aware that any information for the purposes of flight planning should be obtained from Airservices Australia.

Automation of Aerodrome Observations

Aviation services customer satisfaction survey

TAF3 Implementation

TAF Review