Definitions - Categories of Persons

I want to find out about...

What is a Category of Persons?

The term 'persons' is used in the Regulations to refer to individuals as well as trusts, companies, corporations and agencies of State, Territory or Commonwealth Governments that are required to give water information to the Bureau.

Persons named in the Regulations are grouped into nine categories: Categories A to H and K. The categories are based on functions. Persons may be in more than just one category as they may perform more than one function.

What does Category A (lead water agencies) include?

This Category includes the lead State and Commonwealth agencies which have a primary water resource planning, management or policy function. These agencies monitor, collect and report water information. They also have, in many cases, a regulatory or compliance role. The lead water agencies in each state and territory were nominated by their respective Departments of Premier and Cabinet. They have a role in assisting the Bureau to co-ordinate the provision of information within their respective jurisdictions.

What does Category B (other agencies of the Commonwealth or a State) include?

This Category includes State or Commonwealth agencies who collect water information but whose primary function is not water resource planning, management or policy.

What does Category C (hydroelectricity generators) include?

This Category includes the major hydroelectricity generators. A document Commercially Sensitive Sites (77Kb - PDF) on the Bureau's website includes in the Regulations a listing of Category C sites that are commercially sensitive.

What does Category D (owners or operators of major storages) include?

This Category lists persons that own or operate water storages of not less than 1GL.

What does Category E (rural water utilities) include?

This Category includes organisations that supply water for irrigation. It includes the 13 Rural Water Utilities required to meet the National Water Initiative Rural Performance Reporting requirements as well as one other rural utility who was included at their own request.

What does Category F (urban water utilities) include?

This Category includes the major and non-major urban water utilities required to meet National Water Initiative Urban Performance Reporting requirements.

What does Category G (Catchment Management Authorities and others) include?

This Category includes bodies established to oversee the management of natural resources and the conservation of natural and cultural heritage in particular catchments. In some jurisdictions, such as Victoria, they are statutory authorities (the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994).

What does Category H (providers of water information for flood forecasting and warning) include?

This Category includes organisations that are already part of the Bureau's flood forecasting and warning network. (see What about Category H, water information for flood warning and forecasting)

What does Category K (providers of NGIS and Aquifer Framework Information) include?

This Category includes eight State and Territory lead water agencies and the Western Australia Water Corporation. These organisations provide the State/Territory instance of NGIS (National Groundwater Information System) and Aquifer Framework.

Return to the Top

Creative Commons By Attribution logo
Unless otherwise noted, all material on this page is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution Australia Licence