National Groundwater Information System

The National Groundwater Information System was developed by the Bureau with significant input and direction from a technical reference group and steering committee, which included representatives from the following agencies:

  • Australian National University
  • Department of Planning, Industry and Environment - Water
  • Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions (Victoria)
  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (Victoria)
  • Department for Environment and Water (South Australia)
  • Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security (Northern Territory)
  • Department of Regional Development, Manufacturing and Water (Queensland)
  • Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (Tasmania)
  • Department of Water and Environment Regulation (Western Australia)
  • Department of Environment and Science (Queensland)
  • Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment (Commonwealth)
  • Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Geoscience Australia
  • Murray Darling Basin Authority
  • Water Corporation (Western Australia)

Development of the National Groundwater Information System, including the National Aquifer Framework, has been jointly funded by the Bureau and the National Water Commission.

Copyright Pages



GDE Atlas:


Creative Commons By Attribution logo
Unless otherwise noted, all material on this page is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence